Be a Better Person

I do believe that design has been a part of me ever since I was able to make a decision for myself. You see, every choice you make – this over that – is you consciously making, moulding your own self. The motives and reasoning behind it are irrelevant. It may be pure instincts or you may be utterly convinced that there’s a beyond-question reasoning behind it. Whatever, it is, you design. The words you speak, and the way you arrange them in a sentence. The clothes you put on and the music you listen to. Everything is done consciously. It can be likened to a potter’s wheel, with every choice being a slight touch with a wet finger on that soft clay. Push too hard, and your work is completely distorted. Spend time, and you’ll turn out perfect – all the right curves in all the right places.

I guess the reason I’m thinking about this is that, sometimes, I truly don’t know why I make certain choices. Sometimes, I do look back and think of myself as an idiot. But, truth be told, I try to do what I think is right most of the time. The fucked up thing about this is that, what is right for me, may be completely wrong for others. I mean, we’ve always known this from a young age – but to realize that the implications of your “right” choices can actually have an effect on others. You are never alone in the choices you make.

I dislike it when people try to tell me what to do. I can’t stand it. I guess if only we could all just agree to disagree, to be okay with each other’s opinions, that’d be great. I understand that friends want to offer advise, and I guess it is my fault too – for taking it too seriously – but fuck. I honestly wish I was able to not care as much as I do. To be able to say that everything’s okay – no matter how fucked up the situation is. To turn a blind eye. To not get involved. Ignorance does seem like bliss.

Extroverts win in today’s society. I don’t really understand why. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to start a debate about introverts versus extroverts, but why is it that we as a society, are constantly being pushed to be extroverted?

Some people just need to remember to be human again.

I made a choice – I have to stick with it.

I think we all just need to be constantly reminded that there’s more to learn beyond the classroom.

Lessons in the classroom teach you how to be a good worker, lessons beyond the classroom teach you how to be a better person.

Leave a Reply

