My Battle

“One minute I held the key

Next the walls were closed on me

And I discovered that my castles stand

Upon pillars of salt and pillars of sand”

Welcome to university

Where everything you thought you were good at, there’s someone who is a million times better. Where you were once the big fish in a little pond, now just a little fish in an ocean. It’s a battle of the fittest, struggle for survival. What you would have once been known for, now you are just another. Another blank face speaking blank verses. You fight, you struggle, you get tired, you surrender for the day. You wake up, you fight, you struggle, you get tired, you surrender for the day. And so it goes. Fight, struggle, surrender. Fight. Struggle. Surrender.

I want to be the best.

I need to be the best.

I will be the best.

 

But for tonight, I have fought, I have struggled and now I surrender.

Bed, I love you.

 

Leave a Reply

